Jun
10
2021
Upcoming webinar

Overcoming purification challenges in antibody therapeutics manufacturing with subdomain-specific affinity solutions

Thursday 10th June 2021 8:00 PDT; 11:00 EDT; 16:00 BST; 17:00 CEST

Since the first monoclonal antibody therapy was approved by the FDA in 1986, antibody engineering has dramatically evolved. Therapeutic antibodies have become the predominant class of biological drugs and are used to treat a variety of diseases including many types of cancer. With the development of novel bio-therapeutic antibody formats, such as bi-specific monoclonal antibodies, Fab fragments and Fc-fusion proteins, new purification challenges in the downstream process of these molecules arise. 

With an altered or absent Fc-region, the use of bacterial surface proteins such as Protein A or L, is not always the most efficient solution for the purification of these novel modalities. Affinity chromatography resins, specifically developed to bind antibody subdomain regions, can provide an alternative solution in the purification process of a variety of antibody formats, thereby allowing commercial production of antibody therapeutics.

Attendees will learn:

  • Learn more on antibody subdomain-specific affinity chromatography and how it can benefit the overall productivity of your purification workflow.
  • Get real examples showcasing the use of these resins in the development of novel antibody therapeutics.

Laurens Sierkstra

Senior Director, Business Leader, Purification, Thermo Fisher Scientific

Laurens received his PhD in biotechnology in 1994 from the University of Utrecht after studying biology at the University of Leiden. He then joined Unilever as Project Manager and Unit Leader. In 2005, after the spinout of BAC BV from Unilever, he became CEO of BAC BV and set up the business in using single- domain antibodies for affinity purification, called CaptureSelect, which was sold in 2013 to Life Technologies.

Since the acquisition by Thermo Fisher Scientific, he has been the business leader for the affinity purification business within the Bioproduction Division.

24
Days
4
Hrs
34
Min

SPEAKERS

Laurens Sierkstra
Business Leader, ThermoFisher Scientific
Laurens Sierkstra
Business Leader, ThermoFisher Scientific