Bringing you the latest cutting-edge research and commentary in bioscience.

Cell & Gene Therapy Insights

Cell & Gene Therapy Insights

Enabling the next level of pluripotent stem-cell based therapies, from bench to commercialization

Thursday June 13th 08:00 PST; 11:00 EST; 16:00 GMT; 17:00 CET

Sponsored by:

Stem cell-based therapies require innovative solutions to close the gaps existing between research and commercialization.

Allogeneic cell therapy indications that target large patient populations will necessitate the use of flexible cell production platforms to meet the increasing demand of cell quantities. In addition, process control and monitoring, along with cell quality, are key parameters in clinical cell therapy product manufacturing. Human pluripotent stem cells (hPSCs) hold great promise for regenerative medicine and therefore, are a key intermediate cell therapy product.

Taking advantage of scalable, stirred tank bioreactors to expand hPSCs in suspension, enables the production of cell quantity required for clinical applications, and enhances process comparability, control and automation. Here we show that high fold expansion of hPSCs in suspension can be achieved in a bioreactor without the need to pass the cells during culture time.

Expanded hPSCs pass cell quality assays of self-renewal and pluripotency, including the expression of hPSC-associated markers, differentiation to cells of the three germ layers and retention of a normal karyotype. Expansion of hPSCs in a closed stirred tank bioreactor not only meets commercial cell quantity demand but also enables automation and inline monitoring, which enhance process control and product quality.

Following the presentation, you will have the opportunity to pose your questions to our expert speakers.
Webinar attendance is free of charge, but places are limited, so register today to guarantee your participation. If you’re not sure if you’re free on the day, please register anyway and we will send you the link to the recorded webinar as soon as it is live.


REGISTER


Puspa Pandey, R&D Scientist, Cell & Gene Technologies, Lonza

Fan Yang, Process Development Senior Manager, Cell & Gene Technologies, Lonza

Twitter IconVisit Our Blog