Bringing you the latest cutting-edge research and commentary in bioscience.

Cell & Gene Therapy Insights

Cell & Gene Therapy Insights

A bespoke solution to cell therapy manufacturing: the Cocoon platform

September 26th 2019, 08:00 PST; 11:00 EST; 16:00 BST; 17:00 CEST

Sponsored by:
Lonza

The Cocoon™ is a closed, automated, scalable platform for patient-scale cell therapy manufacturing. Through the Cocoon™ platform’s single-use, highly customizable cassette, we can tailor the platform to your process. Using in-process monitoring and cassette customization, The Cocoon platform provides increased control over cell therapy manufacturing processes.

REGISTER



Dr Matthew Hewitt, Head of Clinical Development, Personalized Medicine (PerMed) Initiative, Lonza

Matthew Hewitt is currently the Head of Clinical Development for the Personalized Medicine (PerMed) Initiative within Lonza. The PerMed Initiative has a cell and gene therapy focus working to alleviate pain-points in commercializing cell therapies. One of Matt’s responsibilities is the Cocoon Platform, a closed, automated, scalable cell therapy manufacturing platform which relieves many cell therapy manufacturing difficulties. Prior to joining Lonza, Matt led the Tumor Immunology and Microenvironment program at Bellicum Pharmaceuticals which concentrated on improving cell therapy efficacy in solid tumors. Matt led the Immunology group at the University of Pennsylvania’s Gene Therapy Program under Dr. James Wilson managing numerous AAV gene therapy programs. Matt received his Ph.D. in Biophysics & Physiology from the University of Alabama at Birmingham and completed his post-doctoral fellowship at Johns Hopkins University.

Twitter IconVisit Our Blog