Bringing you the latest cutting-edge research and commentary in bioscience.

Cell & Gene Therapy Insights

Cell & Gene Therapy Insights

Multi-modal facilities: delivering flexible, future-proof ATMP manufacturing

Wednesday, 12th February 8:00 PST; 11:00 EST;  16:00 GMT; 17:00 CET

Sponsored by:

Between newly developed products, strategic partnerships, and acquisitions in the Advanced Therapy Medicinal Market, companies are racing to find or create capacity for plasmids, viral vectors, gene modified cell therapies, and fill finish.

Owner companies and entrepreneurs are considering building multi-product or multi-tenet ATMP facilities to meet this emerging demand.

A dedicated manufacturing facility can be costly, and limits options for the future. Why not have a facility that can produce multiple product types to allow for adaptability to an evolving product pipeline?

Attendees will learn:




Emily Thompson, PE, Process Engineer, CRB

Emily Thompson is a Process Engineer at CRB, specializing in biological process and facility design. Over the last 16 years working in the biotechnology industry, she has gained expertise in designing facilities for monoclonal antibodies, vaccines, and gene therapy production, both in stainless steel and single-use. Emily is a specialist in process simulation and modeling and experienced in a number of different commercially available software programs. A graduate of North Carolina State University, Emily holds two degrees: a Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering and Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry. She is also a licensed Professional Engineer in the state of North Carolina.



Noel Maestre, PE, LEED AP, Biotechnology Core Team Leader, CRB

Noel Maestre is a Biotech Core Team leader at CRB, with an emphasis on Advanced Therapy Medicinal Products (ATMPs). Noel comes from an extensive background in mechanical and process utilities engineering with experience in the life science industry.). Noel specializes in the design, construction and startup of biotechnology, pharmaceutical and advanced technology facilities, and has emerged as a cell and gene therapy Subject Matter Expert. Maestre is experienced in traditional biotechnology/pharmaceutical facility design, including a concentration on single-use process systems, batch versus continuous process and emerging technologies, such as cell and gene therapy. His focus as a project manager is to provide the right solution for the specific problem—true turnkey delivery, lean concepts and innovative project execution are key goals when delivering projects. Maestre is a graduate of Pennsylvania State University with a Bachelor of Science in mechanical engineering.


Twitter IconVisit Our Blog