BioInsights - Overcoming challenges in transitioning stem cell expansion from the laboratory to commercial production
Aug
23
2022
Upcoming webinar

Overcoming challenges in transitioning stem cell expansion from the laboratory to commercial production

Tuesday August 23rd 2022 08:00 PDT / 11:00 EDT / 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST
Sponsor
Overcoming challenges in transitioning stem cell expansion from the laboratory to commercial production

Live30 webinars are thirty minute presentations designed to update you on the latest innovations, applications and data in a fast yet interactive format.

The stem cell field has advanced significantly over the past few decades, and most indications are that it will continue to do so at an ever-increasing pace. As more and more of these discoveries turn into potential therapies, scientists need to overcome challenges to transition these unique cells from laboratory conditions into commercial production. Traditional thinking around commercial production tends towards suspension culture, primarily based on the success of therapeutic protein manufacturing. However, stem cell therapies are significantly more complex. They require more sophisticated manufacturing platforms, and there is not always a one-size-fits all option. Many important considerations need to go into choosing the correct upstream manufacturing platforms including: biological compatibility, cost, time, labor, and analytics. This talk will cover some of these key considerations, as well as provide guidance for choosing the right platform to meet specific stem cell therapy production goals.

  • Critical factors in choosing an approach to stem cell expansion, including biological compatibility, labor requirements, and analytics
  • The relative advantages and disadvantages of adherent and suspension cell culture technologies for stem cell therapy production
  • Discuss key considerations for choosing the right platform for stem cell therapy production

Dr. Ben Josey

Field Application Scientist, Corning Life Sciences

Dr. Ben Josey is a Field Application Scientist at Corning Life Sciences. He received his Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Sciences from the Medical University of South Carolina working on small molecule and biomaterial-based treatments for cancer and neurodegenerative disease. Dr. Josey has held several positions in academia focused on translational research to overcome immunological barriers facing cell therapies. Dr. Josey works extensively with research and process development groups optimizing assay and cell culture scale-up conditions for viral production and cellular therapeutics.

15
Days

SPEAKERS

Dr. Ben Josey
Dr. Ben Josey
Field Application Scientist, Corning Life Sciences

You might also like