BioInsights - Extracellular Vesicles: From Waste EVictees to Therapeutic Reality
Nov
30
2022
Upcoming webinar

Extracellular Vesicles: From Waste EVictees to Therapeutic Reality

Wednesday November 30th 2022 8am PST / 11am EST / 4pm GMT / 5pm CET
Sponsor
Extracellular Vesicles: From Waste EVictees to Therapeutic Reality

Live30 webinars are thirty-minute presentations designed to update you on the latest innovations, applications, and data in a fast yet interactive format.

Once thought to be merely evictees of cell debris, extracellular vesicles (EV) hold the promise of the next generation therapeutic agent. EVs are known cell-to-cell messengers that mediate physiological functions throughout the body. Their ability to stealthily transfer paracrine factors, nucleic acids, proteins, and other essential biomolecules between distant tissues have the potential to usher in a new era of nanomedicine.

This webinar will focus on why stem cell derived EVs are a compelling acellular therapeutic. We will discuss the unique characteristics of EVs compared to other synthetic therapeutic agents and outline the critical attributes necessary to be a successful regenerative medicine alternative to whole stem cell therapies. We will explore how naïve EVs are produced, isolated, and characterized with an emphasis on emerging approaches in characterization and quantification methods. Lastly, we will review the application of EVs as natural therapeutic agents in the clinic, which include regenerative medicine, clinical oncology, and COVID-19 therapies.

Attendees will learn:

  • The biology and function of Extracellular Vesicles
  • Understand where EVs could have a clinical impact
  • Understand what methods can be used to produce, characterize and quantify EVs

Amy Kauffman, PhD

Senior Development Engineer, Corning Life Sciences

Amy Kauffman, PhD, is a Senior Development Engineer at Corning Life Sciences. Prior to joining Corning in 2019, Amy received her PhD in Biomedical Engineering with a specialty in biomaterials, biomechanics, and tissue engineering pioneering advanced coatings for bioresorbable stents for pediatric pulmonary and cardiac interventions. She also completed a Postdoctoral Fellowship at Yale University specializing in non-viral gene delivery for treatment of diabetic wounds, blood disorders, and other rare diseases. At Corning, Amy is responsible for new product development for advanced cell culture, cell therapy, and bioprocess applications.

0
Days

SPEAKERS

Amy Kauffman
Amy Kauffman
Biomaterials Scientist & Engineer at Corning Inc

You might also like