BioInsights - Eliminate hurdles of AAV purity assessment with capillary electrophoresis
Feb
9
2023
Upcoming webinar

Eliminate hurdles of AAV purity assessment with capillary electrophoresis

08:00 PST; 11:00 EST; 16:00 GMT; 17:00 CET
Sponsor
Eliminate hurdles of AAV purity assessment with capillary electrophoresis

Live30 webinars are thirty minute presentations designed to update you on the latest innovations, applications and data in a fast yet interactive format.


Recombinant adeno-associated virus (AAV) is the leading viral vector for the treatment of rare genetic diseases. Like other biologics, AAVs require rigorous manufacturing and testing procedures to ensure product consistency.


A key challenge in the industry today is that many analytical tools are required for this testing. This requires significant capital investment, training, and space, which means more of the precious materials need to be put aside for characterization and less available for release.


Here we show a single capillary electrophoresis platform (Maurice) capable of several purity measurements including capsid protein ratio and capsid content (empty/full), thereby reducing the number of instruments and methods required for measuring these critical quality attributes. The platform provides methods that are stability-indicating, which means that Maurice can be used in analytical development and formulation as well as for quality control and lot release.


  • What are the critical quality attributes for viral vectors
  • Assessment of capsid protein ratio and viral identity using the CE-SDS mode on Maurice
  • Capsid content (empty/full) and particle stability assessment with the imaged cIEF mode on Maurice
  • Application of Maurice in analytical and formulation development
  • Why a single analytical platform is ideal for late-stage viral vector characterization

Dr Chris Heger

Director of Applications Science, Analytical Solutions Division, Bio-Techne

Dr. Chris Heger currently serves as the Director of Applications Science for the Analytical Solutions Division of Bio-Techne. Chris received his Ph.D. in Pharmacology from Cornell University and completed his post-doctoral training at the National Cancer Institute. He then joined ProteinSimple, a Bio-Techne brand, where he has worked for the past 11 years. Chris currently leads the Applications Science group, a team of 7 talented scientists chartered with applications and content development, fostering collaborations, and providing custom analytical solutions. In recent years, Chris’ team has heavily focused on viral vector characterization and have put forth several methods for AAV and lenti viral analysis. He is a member of Bio-Techne’s Science and Technology Council and serves as a technical expert for Bio-Techne Corporate Development.

2
Days

SPEAKERS

Chris Heger
Chris Heger
Director of Applications Science, Analytical Solutions Division, Bio-Techne

You might also like